World-class research

UQ Solar has a highly interdisciplinary team from Electrical Engineering, Computer Science, Cyber-Physical System Security, Data Science, and Energy Economics to put joint efforts to improve the efficiency and delivery of solar energy across Queensland. The research team consists of 10 academics and 30 PhD students. The team is directed by Prof Tapan K. Saha – the Leader of UQ’s Power, Energy, and Control (PEC) Discipline.

The research at UQ Solar is heavily funded by ARENA, ARC, Australian Federal Govt., Advance QLD, and other industry-funded projects. Some noteworthy research facilities UQ Solar has access to include UQ Industry 4.0 Energy TestLab, Renewable Energy Laboratory, St Lucia 2.15 MWh TESLA battery, Gatton 760 kWh battery storage system, 64 MW Warwick Solar Plant, and 3.275 MW Gatton Solar facilities.

Providing innovative engineering solutions to the Australian electricity industry is one of the core objectives of UQ Solar research. Hence, UQ Solar has a large number of industry collaborators from Australia including Powerlink, Energex, Ergon Energy, GridQube, Redback Technologies, AEMO, SIEMENS, Springfield City Group and Engie.


Professor Tapan Saha

Professor Tapan SahaUQ Researcher profile
Phone: +61 7 3365 3962

Tapan Saha has been a Professor of Electrical Engineering and leader of the Power & Energy Systems research group in the School of Information Technology and Electrical Engineering at The University of Queensland since 2005.

Professor Saha’s research interests include condition monitoring of electrical equipment, power system stability and control and integration of renewable energy to the national grid. He has successfully supervised 35 PhD and 8 Masters by research students in the area of power systems. He has received numerous large-scale research grants from ARC, Queensland government and electricity supply industry. He has published more than 400 technical papers in journals and peer reviewed conferences. He is an IEEE Power & Energy Society Distinguished Lecturer.

Professor Saha has been actively involved with the Australian panels of CIGRE (the International Council on Large Electric Systems), and is a senior member of the IEEE. He is a CPEng and Fellow of Engineers Australia, and a Registered Professional Engineer of the state of Queensland (RPEQ).

Top of page

Dr Ruifeng Yan

Dr Ruifeng
Phone: +61 7 3346 1008

Dr Ruifeng Yan received the B. Eng. (Hons.) degree in Automation from University of Science and Technology, Beijing, China, in 2004, the M. Eng degree in Electrical Engineering from the Australian National University, Canberra, Australia, in 2007 and PhD in Power and Energy Systems from the University of Queensland, Australia, in 2012.

He has been a research fellow with the School of Information Technology and Electrical Engineering, University of Queensland since graduation. His expertise includes renewable energy integration to power systems, distribution system voltage imbalance and compensation, and power system stability and analysis. He has supervised 7 undergraduate thesis students, and he is currently co-supervising 2 PhD students and 2 undergraduate thesis students. He is also teaching fourth year courses - Advanced Electronic and Power Electronics Design, and Renewable Energy Integration: Technologies to Technical Challenges.

Top of page

Dr Rahul Sharma
Phone: +61 7 3365 7240

Dr Rahul Sharma received his PhD from the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering in The University of Melbourne. After completing his PhD he carried out his post-doctoral research in the Mechanical Engineering department of the same institution. He is currently a senior lecturer in Electrical Engineering.

His present research focus is on the following two topics:

1. Management of distributed battery storage, controllable loads (control algorithms for demand management) in distribution networks with PV generation

2. Control of grid-connected inverters

Top of page

Dr Feifei Bai

Dr Feifei BaiPostdoctoral Research Fellow

Dr Feifei Bai's research interests include PV integration impacts, battery energy storage integration research, power system low-frequency oscillation analysis and control. Dr Bai received her Bachelor Degree in Electrical Engineering and its Automation from Southwest Jiaotong University, Chengdu, China in 2010 -- and she received her PhD in 'Power System and its Automation' from Southwest Jiaotong University in 2016.

Top of page

Dr Mollah Rezaul Alam

Dr Mollah Rezaul AlamPostdoctoral Research Fellow

Dr. Mollah Rezaul Alam joined at the School of ITEE of the University of Queensland (UQ) as a Postdoctoral Research Fellow in January, 2019. Prior to joining UQ, he worked at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL), Golden CO, USA, under collaborative research program between Endeavour Research Fellowship, Australia and NREL, USA. His previous employment also includes Casual Lecturer at University of Wollongong (UOW), Australia, and Telecom Engineer with expertise in the field of Value-Added-Services.

Dr. Alam received his B.Sc. degree in Electrical and Electronic Engineering from Bangladesh University of Engineering & Technology (BUET) in 2005, and the Ph.D. degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Wollongong (UOW), Australia in 2015. His research interests mainly include characterization of power quality events, machine learning, pattern recognition, fault detection, classification and analysis considering the impacts of distributed energy resources and dynamic loads.

Top of page

Advance Queensland Fellowships to work with Gatton Solar Research Facility data

Dr Hina Khan
Research Fellowship (early career) $180,000
Data management, exploration and visualisation for smart energy grid.

Dr Wayes Tushar
Research Fellowship (early career) $180,000
Peer-to-Peer energy trading schemes for sustainable cities.

Dr Wen Hua
Research Fellowship (early career) $180,000
Machine learning, data analytics, and knowledge management for microgrid data.

Top of page

Student researchers

PhD Candidates

  • Mr Ruiyuan Zhang
  • Manikandan Padmanaban
  • David Amoateng
  • Jiakang Yang
  • Junya Luo
  • Gayan Lankeshwara
  • Ms Indira Alcaide-Godinez
  • Emad Areed

PhD Candidates Completed

  • Mrs Shohana Deeba (Completed)
  • Mr Jaroslaw Krata (Completed)
  • Mr Licheng Wang (Completed)
  • Mr Amit Dhoke (Completed)

MPhil Candidate

  • Mr Mehdi Hasan (Completed)
Top of page

Previously employed UQ Solar Staff

  • Phil Wild
  • Dr Jan E Alam
  • Dr Seyyed Ali Pourmousavi
  • Dr Hina Khan
Top of page